Design journals for this week

April 26, 2014 at 11:05 pm Leave a comment

uncharted: golden abyss Miyamoto once mentioned that their competitors wanted to make film: Naughty Dog does. Uncharted is a film. It’s full of love able characters, small set pieces, a shooty cover game, and a rock climbing game. However cover based shooters: done them before. Climbing games: loved the focus of Prince of Persia. That becomes Uncharted’s main problem. Where a series like Gears of Wars can do cinematics, but excel at gameplay Uncharted cranks up the character button, doubles down on suspense, and forgets about gameplay. I might not finish it before my ps plus membership ends, and I man not so sure it really matters. The primary reason I keep playing is to experience a story. A well characterized one.
rayman: legends Have now unlocked almost every level. And now the game becomes a check in everyday for lums and daily challenge fest. The remixed music levels essentially ask you to play blind which is not a bad idea because you are playing to the beat. I enjoyed the game a lot, but I am not so sure why the game needs to be endless. Part of what makes these games fun is the mastery of a finite challenge. It’s the infinity in details, the possibility in level design that makes platformers come back for me. Leaderboards should globally clock complete times for levels. That said the challenge levels aren’t bad and do a good job of introducing you to a global score system.
strikers: 1945 An old Psiyko release which has been sitting around my vita for a bit. At first it was to fast for me,mthe psp visuals are reduced to a small black bordered box on the vita, but it keeps growing for some reason. I still can’t adjust to the danmaku sufficiently to not be credit feeding the machine, which means Psiyko’s strategy (which I am told is agreession) eludes me. What I like about the game is that the bomb system works as a piece of cover, you call in your squad and they take flack for you for a bit. The result is some serious strategic moments of gameplay. The difference in the ships’ abilities is also refreshing.

Entry filed under: Design, my life through software. Tags: , , .

Some stuff I posted to reddit Bleeding Edge

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


