Sorry pixie the construction of markets

March 26, 2011 at 6:05 am Leave a comment

In my local lotus there is a cellphone carrier that adverises iphones. Every saturday i find myself trying to come up with the desire to switch from android to the iphone.

Mac fanaticism runs deep, my dad simply didn’t buy pcs. I grew up photoshopping on macs and only switched to pcs when the linuxes i experimented with as a teenager solidifed first into servers and second into valiant open source laptops. Open source has yet to nail the desktop platform, my netbook’s ubuntu is awfull, but apple has nailed the phone.

There is little contestation that apple’s product is superior to google’s in a variety of ways. In the desktop wars apple’s major flaw was software, this time they have more of it in spades. Android in fact acts a lot like windows. My two month old phone has to force quit regularly, a feature which i find unacceptable in phones. The hurly burly of carriers and the failures of phone companies to keep android up to date simply compound the already vast hardware problems google’s more open strategy entails, but i still don’t want the iphone.

Consumer markets have proven harder to quantify than solar systems. How consumers decide, and the flurry of subjectivites that decide the buy or not buy binary the cash register records, is not a problem mathematics was made to handle. The dismal science struggles to represent subjectivity accurately. It is rather in anthropolgy’s gaze that the consumer is better summarized. For my father for instance the iphone is the premeire choice, he owns two plus his clinic has several ipads. I can’t help, but feel his has some generalitional commraderie with wozinak/jobs too.

I grew up in the midst of this whole wired / mondo 2000 technolust thing. My technoloyy decissions are often based around an implicit understanding that others like me are shaping the market. We think of our decissions at the technological cash register as votes. The reason i went with android was simply that google’s clout is huge, their wuffie isn’t as edgie as apple’s, and simply put i don’t want apple to dominate the market. It frustrates me that my art house friend, the little apple logo is now everywhere. I teach children in a second world country, they can afford a used iphone now. If there was a smaller more obscure cellular os, i would probably support it… the only problem is there already is a smaller better cellular os it’s called web os.

Palm’s product i’m not terribly familair with. I had one if their schedulers in the nineties, but that’s about it. Palm’s web os supports flash and html5 (android supports flash, iphone html5). It has a great user interface and the budget model is called the pixie… the later is a major selling point for me. I didn’t choose palm though because i simply didn’t think they would make it against the iphone. In other words the collective decission i saw my pack making was to construct google as apple’s rival in lieu of a better phone. As my browser quits and my hardware fails and it feels like i’m using windows again i think i might have been better off away from the pack just my pixie and me… against THE WORLD!!!

Entry filed under: media. Tags: , .

The continent Fucking the id

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


