The Geography of Thought Further: Mothers

May 9, 2006 at 5:05 am Leave a comment

It's nearing mother's day and my bushiban is gearing up for celeberating the maternal anyway, it occured to me today is the Asian love of mothers Nesbitt found in his studies due perhaps to the severity of Asia's fathers? My students were asked to write journals about their families, most of which reported abuse from their fathers. One child's gameboy was destroyed by his Dad becuase he wanted him to do homework and others report hitting etc. None of this is especially shocking, I grew up getting beaten for various offenses before I was deemed mature enough to have my behavoir curbed by grounding (which doesn't really work). But the difference I'm seeing is a clear division along the lines of sex in punishment. Women don't beat their children, on the other hand my mother had no problem spanking me. Also, children in Asia definitely 100% go through "rebelious" phases where they have their own ideas and opinions and challenge their parents, but they do seem to have a more unified sense of family. I hardly talk to mine. Anyway, we're making papercraft cards with word bubbles. Joyce is preparing trees. The Geography of Thought is available on amazon. If you happen to be an anthropologist from the netherlands studying japanese sub-cultures, you never e-mailed me back about Nesbitt's book.

Entry filed under: art, Uncategorized.

links for 2006-05-08 links for 2006-05-09

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


