Me Personally April 13th 2006

April 13, 2006 at 3:25 am 5 comments

I’m beginning to see that coming to Asia wasn’t a bad idea.
Teaching constantly you begin to work with concepts in a new way.
While I once beleived that museumification was the basis of much
of the problem in the world, I’ve now come to the idea that perhaps
simplicity and systems aren’t the end of though. In fact the modelling
of a way of thought doesn’t necessarily mean the end of it, it quite
often is an opening. Systems have the ability to sustian themselves, but
they also have the ability to become more than just sustianability, they
can in essence live. Once we begin categorizing our thoughts we are inherinitly
moving away from the deconstructionist space, but are we moving towards stagnation
or rather the ability to build with out encompassing interestingness as something passe.
I also think I’m closer to girlfriend-ism, i.e. the ability to actually talk and hang out
with peope long enough to develop a relationship. I will have to be warry to avoid the
pitfalls of instant marriage to the first one that comes along. Perhaps I’ve read to
much economics as of late, but their categorical relationships don’t bother me
as much as the utility of the thought is appealing. On another note I’ve come to the
following conclusion: people have children becuase they want to play with children.
If it was socially acceptable for a lawyer to play with 5 year olds, the fertility rate
would go down. We are after all breeding our next playmates. Children around 6 years old
are the best, but after or around middle school they start to suck (to much TV and pop culture
for my taste). Additionally, I don’t think I’m as much of a slob anymore when it comes to people
I am building relationships that are more than passing moments in at a show, these are
“friends” friends, the types that other people apparently have. On another note I have managed
to alienate one of my roommates and am listening to jazz and emo-ish stuff these days. I’m also
not as into music, not keeping up with much of anything and just listening to what comes along.
I am abour 1/3 of the way through Ray Kurzweil’s The Age of Spirital Machines and I find it boring.
He doesn’t reveal much of anything new, and I find his optimism to be as grating as Feymann’s.
Both had utopian dreams of the future and have done well, but you to wonder, do they have to stick
to base instinct? Feymann’s books always bothered me becuase he lacks a philosophical base, he’s to
scientific, while some like Steven Strogatz can manage to find a point in a nickle of math’s based
calculations and also reveal a startingly eclectic sense of self, Kurzweill is knocking his head against
optimism at all times. Can I change anymore? I don’t know. Reconsidering the Japan move, feel a bit more
fueled for building real stuff i.e. programming etc. Teaching english is getting old.

kind regards,
A

Entry filed under: media.

links for 2006-04-12 links for 2006-04-15

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. photosynth  |  April 12, 2006 at 11:27 pm

    synchronicity

    I could really relate to quite a bit you wrote about today. Not only am I bored 1/3 of the way thru the same book by Kurtzweil, but I am considering accepting a position as a Teacher in Nigeria. I would be teaching Video Shooting and Editing… Change is always an option, Andrew. If you have taken the time to gather the energy required… good to hear that you are well. I say amen to the girlfriend, and No Way to the kids. keep us posted out here. namaste.

    Reply
    • 2. dignifieddevil  |  April 12, 2006 at 11:42 pm

      Re: synchronicity

      that would be awesome. the nigerian film scene is really fucking cool. if you go send me some flicks or get those bitches on google video for some re-sale.

      peace,
      A

      Reply
  • 3. dignifieddevil  |  April 12, 2006 at 11:43 pm

    p.s. what happned to the machine drum video?
    and there is no girlfriend. there’s a girl at work
    I’m scheduled to date in the near future though.


    A

    Reply
  • 4. photosynth  |  April 13, 2006 at 1:22 am

    Machine Drummin

    Yeah, the machine drum video, what can I say? I scanned the last frame One hour before hurricane charlie trashed our house. Next time I looked at it i had been in LA for several months, and I still lacked the post production skills to finish it. I knew just enough to shoot it properly. David Violence kept saying he would edit it, but he lost interest. At this point i have several great photographs, and a lingering desire to edit them into timeslice sequences. I still lack the skills and software to do so. Since travis is finishing up a nu album, we have discussed making a vid for the nu one, and just incorporating the special efx into it…guess we will see…

    As for the Nigerian Film scene, I’m not sure it is safe enough for me to go there right now, but they have offered me the position. Nigeria is on the brink of Civil War over the Third-term Bid their current corrupt president is making.

    I would genuinely rather be safe while teaching film. On that note, can you recommend any resources for finding international gigs? i’m so bored of LA at this point, and I’m not heading back to florida either. I’d rather go mediterranean, Latin American, or African, but Asia and India are not out of the question…

    If LA has taught me anything, it is an appreciation of Eurasian women!

    😉 enjoy

    J

    Reply
  • 5. pwowsemaster  |  April 13, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    middle school kids are the pits

    glad to hear that you’re doing well. i enjoy your posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


