Nostalgia: Houston

April 11, 2006 at 8:19 pm Leave a comment

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



reaganhead, originally uploaded by Cheap Click.

For awhile now, I’ve been feeling a strange need to revisit places I’ve lived. Anyway, it’s been 10 years since I was in Houston. I came close last year to returning for a day, but never did. I mostly felt isolated in Houston I think, but I also was like 13 when I lived there and most people feel that way. This is a picture of a Ronald Reagan head in Houston, it’s funny becuase I remember my dad telling me Reagan devalued the American currency so much his commenterative coin should be printed on cardboard. There’s a lot about Houston I didn’t know then that I’ve learned from sidelong glances at the occasional article, it did not have zoning codes for awhile making it a libertarian (or Regean-ee) dream while the bane of any urban planner anywhere you could consider it the anti-portland. At the same time, I think that’s part of the charm of Houston, that it mixes big business and the ability to rezone your house into a bar into one urban environment. I wonder how much of it has become skyscraper since I left.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Otomo Yoshihide’s New Jazz Quintet — Tails Out links for 2006-04-12

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2006
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


