I’m from Alabama (apparently)

February 18, 2006 at 2:41 am Leave a comment

So since moving to Taipei I’ve admitted to the following: I’m afraid of black people (but I don’t think any less of them) and that I am against gun control. This is further impliecated by me being from “Alabama”. I lived there for 8 months, but basically when it comes to P.C. I’m pretty out of the loop. Jarvis comes back from the weekend and we’re hanging out when we meet up with some Canadains, we go to a bar and there I meet a dude from the hostel. We go down to a table and share it with a Taiwanese, American, and a German. I start to tell them about the gun control debate the guy from North Carolina tells me the U.S. looks pretty insane since he left it. This is reasonable I mean it is a pretty absolute-i-nish government with rules that completely disregard what might be common sensical behavioral norms, but part of the beauty of America has always been that you can do what you want. I meet a girl who looks like Lacey. The North Carolina dude tells me that people bigot against people from the South, it’s true once you leave it you may as well stop claiming it as your homeland etc. When I hit D.C. with Tilliander I meet a girl who didn’t understand how people in Florida could have no jobs, “I mean isn’t there like an art institutre they could work for?” In Florida? Kinda. Later I am leaving when the Lacey-like girl asks me to help her at foosball. She asks where are you from, I say you don’t want to know, she says where Texas? I hear they burn people down there. I am from Texas so so yeah but it’s worse than that. I tell them I’m from Alabama, after the game is done the girl across from the Ottawa girl (Tracey) keeps repeating (in a southern accent) “I’m from Alabama,” and won’t stop. She’s from the bay area she eventually confesses. It’s just ridicilous to be “liberal” and from “the south” and be treated this way. What possible incentive does being an asshole do to make the former person rethink their behavoir? And what is a generation that’s obessed with social norms likes P.C.s in the end of things? What happened to tolerance? When did tolerating someone’s behavoir become something unfashionable compared with being progressive?

Entry filed under: media.

Jubilee by Derek Jarman Taipei Game Show

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2006
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Most Recent Posts


